don’t leave me high…..

jdrexler

the radio can be like some mandala, like a wheel of aural fortune that points to something bubbling under the surface of your mind. like that compass in “pirates of the caribbean” whose polar north is your innermost desire.

yesterday, i heard a song i thought i must have dreamed up, it sounded so familiar. i knew the melody, without knowing the words – i knew the idea. it was like standing in a room filled with mist, and the mist cleared, and the edges of things surfaced and thier colors kind of dawned on me, and the song was

radiohead’s “high and dry”

performed by jorge drexler

Two jumps in a week, I bet you think that’s pretty clever don’t you boy.
Flying on your motorcycle, watching all the ground beneath you drop.
You’d kill yourself for recognition; kill yourself to never ever stop.
You broke another mirror; you’re turning into something you are not.

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

Drying up in conversation, you will be the one who cannot talk.
All your insides fall to pieces, you just sit there wishing you could still make love
They’re the ones who’ll hate you when you think you’ve got the world all sussed out
They’re the ones who’ll spit at you. You will be the one screaming out.

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

It’s the best thing that you’ve ever had, the best thing that you’ve ever, ever
had.
It’s the best thing that you’ve ever had; the best thing you’ve had has gone away.

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

muchas gracias a la mujer fabulosa, Rosi Reyes, who played this song on Ritmos De Las Americas . thanks for taking time to catch up with me while board-opping your own show at the same time. you rock, dude.

0 Responses to “don’t leave me high…..”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

your front yard is underwater

pomegranate, lotus + plum

and then some

funny how time slips away

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
_uacct = "UA-2218755-1"; urchinTracker();